• Skip to primary navigation
  • Skip to main content
  • Skip to primary sidebar

TinyGrab

Your Trusted Source for Tech, Finance & Brand Advice

  • Personal Finance
  • Tech & Social
  • Brands
  • Terms of Use
  • Privacy Policy
  • Get In Touch
  • About Us
Home » Does Equip target MTG? (Requires clarification of “MTG”)

Does Equip target MTG? (Requires clarification of “MTG”)

April 18, 2025 by TinyGrab Team Leave a Comment

Table of Contents

Toggle
  • Does Equip Target MTG? It Depends on the MTG!
    • Understanding Targeting in Magic: The Gathering
      • Equip Abilities: The Nuances
      • Why Does This Matter?
    • Equip vs. Attach Effects: A Critical Difference
    • Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) about Equip and Targeting
      • FAQ 1: Can I Equip an Equipment to a Creature with Hexproof?
      • FAQ 2: Can I Equip an Equipment to a Creature with Shroud?
      • FAQ 3: Can I Equip an Equipment to a Creature with Protection from Artifacts?
      • FAQ 4: If my Opponent has a Creature with “When this Creature is Targeted…” Ability, Does Equipping Trigger it?
      • FAQ 5: What Happens if the Creature I’m Equipping an Equipment To Dies in Response to the Equip Ability?
      • FAQ 6: Can I Equip an Equipment to a Creature I Don’t Control?
      • FAQ 7: Can I Move an Equipment from One Creature to Another as Part of the Equip Ability?
      • FAQ 8: Does the Equip Ability Go on the Stack?
      • FAQ 9: Can My Opponent Counter an Equip Ability?
      • FAQ 10: Is There a Difference Between “Equip” and “Reconfigure”?
      • FAQ 11: Can I Equip an Equipment to a Creature if I Can’t Pay the Equip Cost?
      • FAQ 12: If an Equipment says “Equipped Creature Gets +X/+Y” and the Creature Loses that Type, Does the Equipment Fall Off?
    • Conclusion: Equip and Targeting – A Strategic Distinction

Does Equip Target MTG? It Depends on the MTG!

The question of whether Equip targets MTG is deceptively simple. It all boils down to what we mean by “MTG.” If “MTG” refers to Magic: The Gathering, then no, Equip itself does not target. However, if “MTG” represents a specific creature on the battlefield, then yes, Equip effectively targets that creature. It’s crucial to understand the nuances of targetting within Magic: The Gathering to fully grasp this distinction.

Understanding Targeting in Magic: The Gathering

In Magic: The Gathering, targeting is a very specific term with very specific rules. A spell or ability targets if it uses the word “target” on the card. In some cases, a card’s rules text might clearly imply targeting, even without the explicit word.

Equip Abilities: The Nuances

The Equip ability doesn’t explicitly use the word “target” in its definition. The rules simply state you pay the equip cost, and the equipment becomes attached to the creature you choose. This avoids the classic “target” designation, which is strategically important. However, selecting which creature to attach the Equipment to is where the “target” implication comes in.

Why Does This Matter?

This distinction between “targeting” and “selecting” is critical because targeting triggers certain abilities and protections. For instance, a creature with hexproof can’t be targeted by your opponent’s spells or abilities. Since Equip itself doesn’t target, you can equip a creature with hexproof. If Equip did target, the hexproof would prevent it. Similarly, if a creature has protection from artifacts, you cannot equip an artifact to it.

Equip vs. Attach Effects: A Critical Difference

It’s crucial to distinguish between equipping and other effects that attach permanents to creatures. Some spells or abilities might use wording like “attach [this permanent] to target creature.” In these cases, the target keyword is present, and all the usual targeting rules apply. For example, an Aura spell with the text “Enchant creature” does target a creature as it enters the battlefield. Equip doesn’t fall into this category.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) about Equip and Targeting

Here are some common questions about Equip and its relationship to targeting, especially considering possible interpretations of “MTG.”

FAQ 1: Can I Equip an Equipment to a Creature with Hexproof?

Yes. Because the Equip ability doesn’t explicitly target, you can equip an equipment to a creature with hexproof. The key is that the Equip ability doesn’t use the word “target.”

FAQ 2: Can I Equip an Equipment to a Creature with Shroud?

No. Shroud prevents a creature from being targeted by anything, including your own spells or abilities. So if the Equipment requires targeting, Shroud will prevent you. Since Equip doesn’t target, you can equip an equipment to a creature with Shroud.

FAQ 3: Can I Equip an Equipment to a Creature with Protection from Artifacts?

No. Protection from artifacts prevents the creature from being equipped with an artifact. Even though the equip ability does not “target,” the permanent has protection from the Equipment itself.

FAQ 4: If my Opponent has a Creature with “When this Creature is Targeted…” Ability, Does Equipping Trigger it?

No. Since Equip doesn’t explicitly use the word “target,” it won’t trigger abilities that activate “when this creature is targeted.” The creature is selected, not targeted.

FAQ 5: What Happens if the Creature I’m Equipping an Equipment To Dies in Response to the Equip Ability?

The Equip ability resolves as much as possible. The equipment will enter the battlefield unattached. The equip cost is still paid.

FAQ 6: Can I Equip an Equipment to a Creature I Don’t Control?

Generally no, unless a specific card ability allows you to do so. The default rules of Equip only allow you to equip to creatures you control.

FAQ 7: Can I Move an Equipment from One Creature to Another as Part of the Equip Ability?

Yes, that is the primary function of the Equip ability. You pay the equip cost, and the equipment moves from its current creature (if any) to the new creature you’re equipping it to.

FAQ 8: Does the Equip Ability Go on the Stack?

Yes. The Equip ability is an activated ability and uses the stack. It can be responded to with instant spells and other abilities.

FAQ 9: Can My Opponent Counter an Equip Ability?

Yes. Since the Equip ability goes on the stack, your opponent can counter it with spells like Counterspell or similar effects.

FAQ 10: Is There a Difference Between “Equip” and “Reconfigure”?

Yes. Reconfigure is a keyword ability introduced in the Kamigawa: Neon Dynasty set that allows creature equipment to become creatures. Reconfigure doesn’t target the same way that Equip doesn’t target.

FAQ 11: Can I Equip an Equipment to a Creature if I Can’t Pay the Equip Cost?

No. You must be able to pay the equip cost to activate the ability. If you can’t pay, you can’t start the ability.

FAQ 12: If an Equipment says “Equipped Creature Gets +X/+Y” and the Creature Loses that Type, Does the Equipment Fall Off?

No. The equipment remains attached. The equipped creature simply no longer receives the bonus granted by the equipment if it no longer meets the requirements.

Conclusion: Equip and Targeting – A Strategic Distinction

Understanding the nuances of Equip and targeting is vital for any serious Magic: The Gathering player. While Equip doesn’t explicitly target, recognizing the difference between “selecting” a creature and “targeting” it can significantly impact your gameplay. By mastering these subtle distinctions, you can avoid potential pitfalls and optimize your strategy for victory.

Filed Under: Brands

Previous Post: « Does SNHU Offer Financial Aid?
Next Post: How many miles will a Tesla last? »

Reader Interactions

Leave a Reply Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Primary Sidebar

NICE TO MEET YOU!

Welcome to TinyGrab! We are your trusted source of information, providing frequently asked questions (FAQs), guides, and helpful tips about technology, finance, and popular US brands. Learn more.

Copyright © 2025 · Tiny Grab